doshisha_commonheader
  1. Home
  2.  > Using the library
  3.  > Special Materials
  4.  > Special Collections
  5.  > Special Collections

Special Collections

Special Collections

Komuro / Sawabe Memorial Collection (about 5,500 volumes)

This is the book collection of Shinsuke Komuro (1852-1885) and Seishu Sawabe (1856-1886), activists in a Japanese civil rights movement (Jiyu Minken Undo) during the Meiji Period. It was established in 1891 through the fundraising efforts of Nobuyuki Nakajima, Eikichi Kimura and Masanao Matsumoto. The Memorial Collection focuses on reference materials related to Japanese history -mainly manuscripts written during Japan’s modern period-and comprises the most part of the book collection of Suiken Tachihara, a Confucian vassal of the Mito Domain and the president of the Mito Shikan (editorial office) who worked tirelessly in editing Dainihonshi (Great Chronicles of Japan) and made its original text, as well as his handwritten manuscripts and transcriptions. It also includes the book collection of the Wagaku Kodansho (an institute for Japanese studies) established by Hokiichi Hanawa in the middle of the Edo Period. These rare and valuable books are the subject of much attention in the library.

Sales of catalogs Academic Repository

Ueki Collection (680 volumes)

The collection was established in 1893 with the gift of the book collection of Emori Ueki (1857-1892), an activist in a Japanese civil rights movement (Jiyu Minken Undo) through the offices of Masaine Hamada and Michie Adachi. The collection features books related to politics and law published in the early Meiji Period, such as “Risshisha Shimatsukiyo” (brief history of Risshisha), “Ho Riron” (Japanese translation of “Philosophie de droit” by William Belime), “Kokken Hanron” (general discussion of the national constitution, written by Azusa Ono), and “Taisei Kokuho Ron” (Japanese translation of Simon Vissering’s lecture).

Sales of catalogs Academic Repository

Neesima Memorial Collection (about 3,800 volumes)

The collection was established in 1893 in memory of Doshisha’s founder, Joseph Neesima, who passed away in 1890. The collection was increased in 1895 through fundraising. It mainly contains Japanese books published or transcribed during the late modern period, such as those related to Japanese and oriental philosophies, as well as Buddhism and Shinto. Shinto-related books include ‘Kamikaze Shikinamigusa’ transcribed by Churyo Niimatsu, and 50 volumes of ‘Buntei Zensho’

Aizan Collection (about 3,500 volumes)

This is the book collection of Aizan Yamaji (1864-1917), a historian during the Meiji and Taisho periods, donated in 1917 by courtesy of businessman and social activist Magosaburo Ohara. The collection mostly contains reference materials related to the nation’s history, including the transcriptions of ‘Hakuseki Ibun’ (literary remains of Hakuseki Arai, a historian during the middle of the Edo Period) and ‘Ryuei Hiroku’ (confidential reports on Ryuei).

Academic Repository

Namae Collection (about 3,000 volumes)

The collection was established in 1945 with the gift of the book collection of Takayuki Namae (1867-1957), a pioneer in Japan’s social welfare activities. The collection features reference materials, including many pamphlets, related to social issues and social welfare activities, such as ‘Chiho Kairyo Jigyo Koen-shu’ (lecture records of the local government improvement project) edited by the local office of the Ministry of Interior, ‘Toshi Kairyo Sankoshiryo’ (reference materials of the city improvement project), and rare reports on ‘hotoku’ (a moral belief that if you contribute for the benefit of the society, it will return to you over time), ‘local achievements’ and ‘exemplary villages’ promoted by the government after the Russo-Japan War.

Sales of catalogs

Tokutomi Collection (about 1,100 volumes)

The collection was established in 1947, comprising a part of the book collection of Soho Tokutomi (1863-1957) and reference materials related to Tokutomi donated by Jiro Yamamoto, a businessman who was strongly influenced by Tokutomi. The collection includes more than 20 letters to Tokutomi from prominent figures such as Shimei Futabatei (author), Kaoru Inoue (politician), Katsunan Kuga (journalist), Ogai Mori (author), Chomin Nakae (political theorist), Naobumi Ochiai (tanka poet and scholar) and Yukio Ozaki (politician). It also contains more than 20 volumes from William Morris’s famous private ‘Kelmscott Press’, Tolstoy’s favorite walking stick and autographed photos from his later life.

Academic Repository

Araki English Studies Collection (about 330 volumes)

The collection was established in 1958 with the book collection of Waichi Araki (1872-1957), a civil scholar in English studies who worked for a foreign life insurance company. Donated by Araki’s family, the collection contains reference materials related to Western studies, mainly English studies, selected from among 20,000 volumes of the Araki Collection, including Merlyn’s Dutch-French Dictionary (fourth edition), ‘Rangaku Kaitei’ (Introduction to Dutch learning), ‘Yakken’ (a condensed version of the Dutch-Japanese Dictionary), a reproduction of ‘Eibunkan’ (English Grammar Book), ‘Eigosen’ (English words and usage book), ‘Waei Showa’ (translation of Van Reed’s conversation book), ‘Shoten Gaiwa Tsuin Binran’ (Japanese-English Dictionary) and an enlarged and revised version of ‘Eiwa Taiyaku Shuchin Jisho’ (English-Japanese Dictionary).

Sales of catalogs Academic Repository

Cary Collection (about 1,000 volumes)

The collection was established in 1974 with the gift of the book collection of former Doshisha University professor Otis Cary. Most of the collection, which includes many rare books, comprises Western literature related to Japanese studies and the history of Christian missionary work collected by Otis’s grandfather, Dr. Otis Cary, and father, Dr. Frank Cary. Among them is the ‘Narrative of the Expedition of an American Squadron to the China Seas and Japan’ in three volumes edited by Francis L. Hawks, with many autographic letters attached, including those of Commodore of the Squadron, M.C. Perry, Arnoldus Montanus, Garl. P. Thunberg, V.M. Golornin and Isaac Titsingh. The collection also contains three kinds of Western news magazines-The Far East, edited by J. R. Black; The Phoenix, a monthly magazine for India, Burma, Siam, China, Japan and East Asia, edited by James Summers; and The Chrysanthemum: a monthly magazine for Japan and the Far East.

Sales of catalogs Academic Repository

Nakano Music Scores Collection (about 9,200 mandolin scores and 9,500 guitar scores, as well as related publications and magazines)

The collection was established with the gift of the music score collection of a musician Jiro Nakano (1902-2000). Nakano had collected mandolin and guitar music scores since 1920, some of which were obtained from overseas, making the collection one of the most valuable in the world. It contains music scores of several hundred composers from the early19th century to the present, including those of Matteo Carcassi, who is said to be the founder of the modern classical guitar, and Fernando Sor, as well as rare pieces, such as the original edition of Mauro Giuliani.

Sales of catalogs

Takebayashi Collection (about 600 books and 3,034 documents)

The collection was established in 1961 with the book collection of a library science scholar, Kumahiko Takebayashi (1888-1960). Donated by Takebayashi’s family, the collection features reference materials related to modern Japanese libraries, which include 1,695 documents (mostly his own manuscripts), and 1,339 documents about Inagi Tanaka (first director of the national library and chairman of the Japan Library Association), as well as Takebayashi’s manuscripts, including ‘Meiji-jidai ni okeru toshokan no rekisiteki kenkyu shiryo’ (historical materials for the research of Japanese libraries in the Meiji Period), and Tanaka’s manuscripts and concept notes, including ‘Teikoku Toshokan Setsurits no Gi’ (proposal on the establishment of the national library) and ‘Kaikaishiki Shikji’ (speech of the opening ceremony of the national library).

Academic Repository

Other Collections

The following collections are displayed with other books in the category of General Books:
The Ando Ijin Collection, the Araki Collection (except the Araki English Studies Collection), the Harada Collection, the Murakami Collection, the Kato Collection, the Takayanagi Collection, the Morita Collection, the Yokota Collection, the Nakaseko Collection, the Shimomura Collection, the Denton Collection and The Francis King Collection.

Dewey Collection (about 4,000 volumes)

The collection was established in 1970 with a donation and the books written by an American philosopher and educator, John Dewey, as well as reference materials related to the study of pragmatism, given by Tetsutaro Yoshikawa, late professor emeritus at Doshisha University. The collection contains rare books, including ‘Les lois de l’mitation: etude sociologique’, (written by Gabriel Tarde) originally owned by an American philosopher and psychologist who founded pragmatism, William James (1842-1910), and Dewey’s autographic letters.

English version commentary

Sales of Catalogs

The catalogs of the following collections can be purchased. For those who wish to purchase or inquire, please contact the Doshisha Enterprise (Telephone : +81-75-251-3027).

The Komuro / Sawabe Collection, the Ueki Collection, the Araki English Studies Collection, the Cary Collection, the Nakano Music Scores Collection and the Namae Collection. ‘Nihonjin Hyoryuki Bunken Mokuroku’ can be also purchased.

Name of the CollectionPrice (tax included)
Komuro / Sawabe Memorial Collection900 yen
Ueki Collection1,000 yen
Araki English Studies Collection1,200 yen
Cary Collection2,000 yen
Nakano Music Scores Collection2,500 yen
Namae Collection2,500 yen
Nihonjin Hyoryuki Bunken Mokuroku700 yen