New Libraries -Academic and Information Center- 1973-2000
|1973||Imadegawa Library is constructed (open 9:00 to 21:00) .|
(*)The library collection numbers about 260,000 volumes.
|1974||The Otis Cary Collection is established with the book collection of former professor of Doshisha University, Otis Cary. Collected by three generations of the Cary family, it contains a number of rare books.|
The 6th Chancellor of Doshisha, Kotaro Shimomura, donates his book collection, which later becomes the Kotaro Shimomura Collection.
The Shinmachi Reading Room closes.
|1977||A stack room is created on the third floor of the Library. |
(rare books stacks, closed stacks and a university/graduate school joint library)
|1982||The Library starts to input the Doshisha Machine Readable Cataloging (MARC) records, developed in collaboration with the Japan Information Processing Service Co., Ltd (JIP). This automates the creation of physical catalog cards.|
The Library adopts the Book Detection System (BDS).
|1985||The Jiro Nakano Music Scores Collection is established with around 6,700 scores for |
the mandolin and 6,100 scores for the guitar donated from Nagoya musician Jiro Nakano. The collection is open to the general public according to Nakano’s wishes.
|1986||The Learned Memorial Library is established on the Kyotanabe Campus. The |
Library, which houses about 42,000 volumes, starts as an open-stack library for first- and second-year students. The Library purchases the bibliographic databases (MARC) from NIPPAN (Japanese books) and KINOKUNIYA (English books), with original call numbers assigned. Online catalog search starts, but the service is provided via a librarian.
The system for borrowing and returning books begins with the issuance of a library card with a barcode.
|1987||The Magazine Room (converted from the Reading Room 1) and the Reference Corner are added to Imadegawa Library.|
A search system for periodicals starts.
|1988||An online catalog search service (via a librarian) starts in both Imadegawa |
Library and the Learned Memorial Library.
It becomes possible to search the library catalog online at each faculty and department of the university.
|1989||The online catalog search system (command-driven type) becomes available to users. Catalog search terminals for users are installed in the libraries of both campuses.|
Online database (NACSIS-IR) and CD-ROM (CD-HIASK) search services (via a librarian) begin.
|1990||Doshisha University Library joins NACSIS-CAT, a system for constructing the union catalog databases at universities in Japan, established by the National Center for Science Information Systems (present National Institute for Informatics).|
|1991||Due to the structural reorganization of the University, the libraries, the computer center and the audio-visual room are integrated into the Academic Information Center, though the names of the library buildings on both campuses remain.|
The Academic Information Center Journal is first published, replacing the Biblioteka.
An online library catalog search system, DOORS (DOshisha Online Retrieval System) launches. The system is composed of three files: materials at the Learned Memorial Library, materials at Imadegawa Library and each faculty and department, and serial publications.
Academic information obtained by the Library between 1964 and 1981 begins to be retroactively input into an electronic database with a four-year plan.
NDC 8th edition is adopted.
|1992||Computers for CD-ROM database search are provided for student use at the libraries on both campuses.|
The Learned Memorial Library stops purchasing MARC (from Kinokuniya and Nippan). Data creation starts to be undertaken using the library cataloging system.
|1993||The new academic information system for the creation and retrieval of library catalog data, as well as the sub-system for borrowing and returning materials, starts operating.|
DOORS database and its management becomes centralized on campus.
The library management system for borrowing and returning items at Imadegawa Library and the Learned Memorial Library are integrated.
Code numbers of the Learned Memorial Library are integrated into the campus-wide code numbers.
* The library collection numbers around 575,000 volumes.
|1994||With the relocation of the Faculty and the Graduate School of Science and |
Engineering to the Kyotanabe Campus, about 3,000 books of Imadegawa Library are transferred to the Learned Memorial Library, adding to the collection of 3,000 newly purchased books.
Internet service becomes available in the Learned Memorial Library.
The new academic information system is completed with the running of the sub-systems for the ordering and cataloging of periodicals. Retroactive input of the entire bibliographic data of the New Classification books (1964-1981) is completed.
|1995||The university/graduate school joint library moves to Hakuenkan.|
DOORS (networked, dial-up) becomes available.
|1996||A multimedia library opens in Imadegawa Library to enhance the service for the use of multimedia materials, such as CD-ROMs, as well as audio-visual materials.|
The Media Workshop opens (Neiseikan).
Library cards (with a barcode) are abolished, and student, teacher and staff ID cards (magnetic) start to serve as a library card.
Doshisha Women’s College of Liberal Arts requests to join the Academic Information System.
|1997||A multimedia library is established in the Learned Memorial Library.|
A computer corner is set up in Imadegawa Library.
The website of the Academic Information Center goes online.
The opening hours of Imadegawa Library are extended (9:00 to 22:00).
A stack room is established in Kobukan.
Doshisha Women’s College of Liberal Arts starts operating DOORS.
|1998||A computer corner is set up in the Learned Memorial Library.|
The EU i (established in 1976 in the Faculty of Law) is relocated to Imadegawa Library.
Imadegawa Library starts opening on Sundays on a trial basis.
The Francis Henry King Collection is established with more than 200 items related to British novelist Francis King, including his books, letters, manuscripts and book reviews, donated from the Francis King Society of Japan.
The collection continues to grow thanks to generous donations from the society.
|1999||The web version of DOORS goes online.|
The Learned Memorial Library starts opening on Sundays on a trial basis.
A digital archive of rare books becomes available on the Library’s website.
|2000||Retroactive input of the bibliographic data of the Classic Classification books starts.|
Construction to increase Imadegawa Library’s stacks starts (completes in 2001). As a result, an additional 140,000 volumes are housed.
Research bulletins (electronic text) are published on the Library’s website.
The lending service is expanded.
A mutual lending service using Student ID starts between Doshisha University and Doshisha Women’s College of Liberal Arts.
* The library collection numbers about 600,000 volumes.