Digital Archive Concerning Libraries

Doshisha Academy (Eigakko) was founded, and in the following year, 1876, Neesima made his personal book collection available for reference and loan to students and teachers. This was the start of Doshisha University Library. The Workshop for Library Science Study (renamed the Society for Library Science of Doshisha University in 1952) was set up, and the library has come a long way.
In this archive, Takebayashi Collection, which consists of the books and written records owned by Kumahiko Takebayashi (1888-1960), a former Doshisha University professor known as a library science scholar, the archival materials of Doshisha University Library Science School, and other resources concerning libraries are digitally archived to make them accessible to the public.

The Kumahiko Takebayashi Collection (about 600 books and 3,034 documents)

The collection consists of the books and written records owned by a library science scholar, Kumahiko Takebayashi (1888-1960) and donated to Doshisha according to his wishes by a member of the bereaved family, Haruhiko Takebayashi in 1961.
The collection of reference materials related to modern Japanese libraries comprises approximately 600 books owned by Takebayashi and a total of 3,034 written records collected by him. The written records comprise 1,695 Takebayashi documents, mainly drafts and manuscripts written by Takebayashi himself, and 1,339 Inagi Tanaka documents by Inagi Tanaka, the first chief librarian of the Imperial Library, the first president of the Japan Library Association (old name: the Nippon Bunko Kyokai), as well as the subject of Takebayashi’s research. Takebayashi’s manuscript “Meiji-jidai ni okeru toshokan no rekisiteki kenkyu shiryo” (historical materials for the research of Japanese libraries in the Meiji Period) is among the Takebayashi documents. Tanaka’s manuscripts and concept notes, such as “Teikoku Toshokan Setsuritsu no Gi” (proposal on the establishment of the Imperial library) and ”Teikoku Toshokan no Kaikanshiki Shikiji Gennko” (manuscript of a ceremonial address at the opening ceremony of the Imperial Library) are included in the Tanaka documents.
For more detail (In Japanese)

An example of using Takebayashi Collection

User's guide [PDF 152KB] to OPAC (DOORS) and the following data:
Teikoku Toshokan Setsuritsu no Gi
Teikoku Toshokan no [Kaikanshiki shikiji] Genko
Haikei Naikakubunko Shuzo no Shosatsu o…

Scrap Book

Doshisha University’s collection of librarians’ scrap books were originally preserved in the library office at Doshisha University Library. There are 20 volumes of scrap books, each comprised of documents probably collected in the early Showa period. While the Doshisha University Library Science School’s documents are included, the scrap books also systematically feature Doshisha University Library’s own documents, as well as the other university library’s documents related to the library management, such as letters of appreciation to donors, letters of request, various cards or slips used in the library, information brochures, photographs, and library supplies in those days.

Item List of Scrap Book (In Japanese)[PDF 397KB]
e. Doshisha Daigaku Toshokan
HERMES Ambassador Showa Taipuraita Kabushikigaisha
A. Doshisha Daigaku Toshokan  I. Iraijo Hoka

Doshisha University Library Science School

Doshisha University Library Science School is the origin of Doshisha University’s course for librarians. The archival materials of the school are to be found here. In 1941, the Workshop for Library Science Study (renamed the Society for Library Science of Doshisha University in 1952) was set up, holding study presentation meetings and open lecture meetings. Organized by this Workshop, Doshisha University Library Science School was established in October of 1946. The school, mostly taught by working librarians, had provided the education of library science, until the training courses for librarians under the provisions of the Library Act began to be held in various regions in 1951. Although the role as the school ended, the archival materials of the school are available to the public as the best resources regarding the development of library science education at Doshisha University.

Item List of Doshisha University Library Science School (In Japanese)[PDF 342KB]

Related materials(In Japanese):
Aoki Tsugihiko, Doshisha daigaku toshokangaku kyoiku shikou, Doshisha Library Science Annual 2013-03-09, no.38, p.9-27
Ujigo Tsuyoshi, Doshisha ga unda toshokanjin : Doshisha toshokan sanmyaku no genryu to Senkushatachi, Doshisha Library Science Annual 2013-03-09, no.38, p.69-101
Ujigo Tsuyoshi, Harada Takashi, Toshokan shisho katei wo kizuita hito tachi, Doshisha Library Science Annual 2013-03-09, no.38, p.102-138
Doshisha Daigaku Toshokangaku Koshujo Dai 1 Kai Chokosei Boshu Yoko
Dai 5 Kai Doshisha Daigaku Toshokangaku Kosyujo Jikanwari (Showa 25 Nendo)
Showa 29 Nendo Doshisha Kakidaigaku [Choko Annai]