The Otis Cary Collection (about 1,100 volumes)

The collection was established in 1974 with the gift of the book collection of former Doshisha University professor Otis Cary. Most of the collection, which includes many rare books, comprises Western literature related to Japanese studies and the history of Christian missionary work collected by Otis’s grandfather, Dr. Otis Cary, and father, Dr. Frank Cary. Among them is the ‘Narrative of the Expedition of an American Squadron to the China Seas and Japan’ in three volumes edited by Francis L. Hawks, with many autographic letters attached, including those of Commodore of the Squadron, M.C. Perry, Arnoldus Montanus, Garl. P. Thunberg, V.M. Golornin and Isaac Titsingh. The collection also contains three kinds of Western news magazines-The Far East, edited by J. R. Black; The Phoenix, a monthly magazine for India, Burma, Siam, China, Japan and East Asia, edited by James Summers; and The Chrysanthemum: a monthly magazine for Japan and the Far East.
Sales of catalogs

【 Doshisha University Digital Collections 】image page
A true description of the mighty kingdoms of Japan and Siam /…
Histoire et description generale du Japon:…
Neuestes Gemälde von Japan und den Japanern :…
Sketches of Japanese manners and customs
The Jesuit Mission Press in Japan
The history of the church of Japan
Travels in Europe, Africa, and Asia, performed between the years 1770…
History of Japan
The history of Japan :…
Recherches historiques sur l'état de la religion chrétienne au Japon,…
Recollections of Japan :…
Histoire de l'établissement :…
China opened, or, A display of the topography,… 
Narrative of the Earl of Elgin's mission to China and Japan…
A lady's visit to Manilla and Japan 
L'art japonais
The Tongue cut sparrow
The mouse's wedding
The Serpent with eight heads
The Hare of Inaba  
The Silly jelly-fish
The princes fire-flash & fire-fade
My lord bag-o'-rice
Japanese homes and their surroundings
Illustrations of Japan :…

『Narrative of the expedition of an American squadron to the China seas and Japan:…』(ペリー日本遠征記)
Narrative of the expedition of an American squadron to the China seas and Japan:…