1. Home
  2. Using the library
  3. Special Materials
  4. Komuro / Sawabe Memorial Collection

The Komuro and Sawabe Memorial Collection (about 5,500 volumes)

Shinsuke Komuro
Shinsuke Komuro
Seishu Sawabe
Seishu Sawabe
This is the book collection of Shinsuke Komuro (1852-1885) and Seishu Sawabe (1856-1886), activists in a Japanese civil rights movement (Jiyu Minken Undo) during the Meiji Period. It was established in 1891 through the fundraising efforts of Nobuyuki Nakajima, Eikichi Kimura and Masanao Matsumoto. The Memorial Collection focuses on reference materials related to Japanese history -mainly manuscripts written during Japan’s modern period-and comprises the most part of the book collection of Suiken Tachihara, a Confucian vassal of the Mito Domain and the president of the Mito Shikan (editorial office) who worked tirelessly in editing Dainihonshi (Great Chronicles of Japan) and made its original text, as well as his handwritten manuscripts and transcriptions. It also includes the book collection of the Wagaku Kodansho (an institute for Japanese studies) established by Hokiichi Hanawa in the middle of the Edo Period. These rare and valuable books are the subject of much attention in the library.
Sales of catalogs
For more detail (In Japanese)

【 Doshisha University Digital Collections 】image page
Annan Kikai
Gorojiwa
tachihara Shuiken shu
Shinan Shukan
Teisei Zoyaku Sairan Igen
Yamashiro Meishoshi
Keien Isshi
Kyoka Konjaku Monogatari
Jusen Kidan
Nenzan Kibun
Miyagawanoya Mampitsu
Nampo Yugen
Umpyo Zasshi
Izu Nikki : Shichito Kisetsu
Koyo Sekiyo Sonsha Shi
Shinkoku Monzen Seibun Onkun
Shin Rokutaika Zekkusho
Zekku Ruisen
Kaihyo Ibun(海表異聞)
Kaihyo Ibun