The Kumando Morita Collection (about 770 volumes)

The collection was established in 1901 with the book collection of Kumando Morita (1858-1898)( graduated at Doshisha Eigakko (Academy) as a first member in 1879, and worked at Doshisha University Department of School of Theology as a professor.) After he passed away, the Kumando Morita Collection was donated by 258 Doshisha alumni with books purchased with donations from Doshisha alumni.
Although this collection is displayed with other books in the category of General Books it is not treated as the category of Special collections. There is attached labels ”Morita Memorial Collection"in each book. Most of the labels were written in English with the signature of "H.K.Morita” with the date and place of the purchase.
(The sentence is summarised in the articles of Doshisha University Library's journal, 'Biblioteka' No8 in February 1st of 1971)
There are comparatively large numbers of foreign books about philosophy and religion since the middle of the 19th century.
For more detail (In Japanese)

The Rihei Miyake Collection (about 1,370 volumes)

The collection was established in 1920 by purchasing the original book collection of Director of Doshisha Library, Seichi Takimoto(an economic historian and professor of Keio university). The collection has been entrusted to the Library with a donation from a Doshisha alumnus, former trustee Rihei Miyake. The collection mostly related to the foreign books of Economics.(Most of the books are kept at the Faculty of Economics laboratory, therefore the library has only dozens of books.)
For more detail (In Japanese)

The Ephraim Flint Collection (260 volumes)

The collection was gifted by Mrs Flint, the wife of Ephraim Flint who was a friend of Jo Neesima when he studied abroad in the U.S.A.
The collection was published in 1880-1895 and features books related to Christian studies with about 260 volumes.

The Masanao Kobayashi Collection (1,011 volumes)

This collection was established in 1925 with a donation of 10,000 yen from former trustee Masanao Kobayashi(graduated in 1893), a Doshisha alumnus.
This collection purchased books related to economics and education every year using the annual interest of his donation.
For more detail (In Japanese)

The Sakuya Yoshida Collection (586 volumes)

The collection was established in 1933 with the book collection of Sakuya Yoshida(graduated Doshisha Eigakko (Academy) as a first member in 1879), a Doshisha alumnus. It was donated by Kazutami Ukita , Teiichi Hori and another sympathiser, there are comparatively large numbers of philosophy, diplomacy, law and literature books.

The Seitaro Okada Collection (798 volumes)

The collection was established in 1933 with the book collection of Seitaro Okada(graduated in 1911), a Doshisha alumnus.
It was donated by sympathiser, there are comparatively large numbers of literature, language and philosophy books.

The Ando Hero's Biography Collection (646 book titles)

The collection was established in 1934 with the book collection of Ando (graduated Doshisha School of Theology in 1918).
It was donated by himself, the collection mostly related to the Hero's biography and criticism which he purchased.

The Tasuku Harada Collection (720 volumes)

This is the book collection donated by Tasuku Harada(1863-1940) who was the 7th Chancellor. The collection features books related to Christian studies.

【 Doshisha University Digital Collections 】image page
hyakushu iken
izumishikibu monogatari

The Yasutada Yokota Collection (154 volumes)

The collection was established in 1935 with the book collection of Yasutada Yokota (graduated in 1890), a Doshisha alumnus.
It was donated by his wife, abiding by the wishes of the deceased . The collection mostly related to the foreign books.

The Kogenta Murakami Collection (188 volumes)

The collection was established in 1935 with the book collection of Kogenta Murakami (graduated Doshisha Eigakko (Academy) in 1881), a Doshisha alumnus.
It was donated by his son and heir, abiding by the wishes of the deceased. The collection mostly related to the Japanese books.

The Kotaro Kato Collection (1,833 volumes)

The collection was established in 1935 with the book collection of Kotaro Kato (graduated Doshisha school of Politics and Law in 1898), a Doshisha alumnus.
It was donated by his wife, abiding by the wishes of the deceased.

The Matsuichiro Takayanagi Collection (467 book titles)

This is the self-donated book collection of Matsuichiro Takayanagi(graduated Doshisha School of Politics and Law in 1897), a Doshisha alumnus.
He was also an expert in the Chinese customs duty system.The collection is mainly reference materials related to social science, particularly economics, as well as international relations in comparatively large numbers.

The Mary Florence Denton Collection (458 volumes)

The collection was established in 1948 with the book collection of Mary Florence Denton, who made a considerable contribution to the education of girls at Doshisha.
It was donated by Hisa Hoshina who worked at Doshisha Women’s College as a professor. All of the collections are foreign books and literary work.

The Kazutami Ukita Collection (416 book titles)

The collection was established in 1948 with the book collection of Kazutami Ukita(1859-1946)(graduated at Doshisha Eigakko (Academy) as a first member in 1879) , a Doshisha alumnus and a political scientist, as well as a professor of Waseda University.
It was donated by himself, there are a wide range of books particularly about history of the Western world as well as biographies of Westerners in comparatively large numbers.

The Waichi Araki Collection (about 20,000 volumes)

The collection was established in 1958 with the book collection of Waichi Araki (1872-1957), a civil scholar in English studies who worked for a foreign life insurance company. It was donated by his family.

【 Doshisha University Digital Collections 】image page
chigaku shoho wage
kaigai shoto zusetsu
chiri zenshi
chikyu setsuryaku
kokugun zenzu
izumi meisho zue

The Rokuro Nakaseko Collection (about 2,600 volumes, many journals)

The collection was established in 1971 with the book collection of Rokuro Nakaseko (graduated Doshisha Eigakko (Academy) in 1889).
It was donated by his daughter Kazu , who was a professor of Doshisha Women’s College of Liberal Arts.The collection mostly related to the chemistry books.

【 Doshisha University Digital Collections 】image page
shichigon zekku
goshichi gonritsu hairitsu
onnakokyo

The Kotaro Shimomura Collection (424 volumes)

The collection was established in 1974 with the book collection of Kotaro Shimomura who was The 6th Chancellor of Doshisha.
It was donated by his son. The collection mostly related to the chemistry books with 424 volumes.

The Neesima Residence Collection (1,059 volumes)

The collection was established in 1925 with the book collection of the founder Joseph Hardy Neesima(1843-1890) and his wife Yae, including his rubbing book, with historical documents and materials has been passed down in his family ,donated by Yae Neesima.
Currently Doshisha Archives Center is organize.